Clicking the Workbook icon in the upper left corner of the Xcalar Design window opens the Workbook Browser. You can create a workbook as described in Creating a workbook as your workspace.
Tasks you can perform in the Workbook Browser
The following list and partial screenshots describe the tasks you can perform in the Workbook Browser:
- Activating an inactive or a paused workbook.
- Pausing an active workbook.
- Deactivate a paused or active workbook.
- Deleting an inactive workbook.
- Editing a workbook name.
- Duplicating a workbook.
You can edit or duplicate a workbook regardless of its status.
Understanding workbook activation
Upon creation, a workbook is inactive. You must activate the workbook before you can use it as your workspace.
After you log out and log in again to Xcalar Design, the workbook that was active before you logged out remains active. However, if the Xcalar cluster is stopped and then started again, none of the workbooks are active and you must activate one of the workbooks in the Workbook Browser.
How a workbook status changes
A workbook can be active, inactive, or paused.
Deactivating a workbook
You do not need to manually deactivate one workbook to activate another. For example, if workbook1 is active but you want to switch to workbook2, simply click the play icon for workbook2. This deactivates workbook1 automatically and activates workbook2. The status of workbook1 becomes inactive.
Pausing a workbook
If you have an active workbook that you want to delete and you do not want to switch to another workbook, you must pause it before you can delete it.
The following list describes the difference between an inactive workbook and a paused workbook:
- When deactivating a workbook (that is, when you switch from one workbook to another), Xcalar releases memory used by the workbook's datasets and tables. When you re-activate the workbook, Xcalar re-creates the datasets and active tables, which might take a while, especially if the tables were created with complex operations. Therefore, before you deactivate a workbook, be aware that re-activating it in the future might not be instantaneous.
- Data from a paused workbook remains in memory. If you want to re-activate a paused workbook, the in-memory data enables the re-activation to be faster than the re-activation of an inactive workbook. However, be aware that a paused workbook continues to consume memory.
Re-activating a paused or inactive workbook
You can re-activate a paused or inactive workbook at any time. For example, if workbook1 is paused and workbook2 is active, you can activate workbook1. This causes workbook2 to become inactive.
When workbook activation is in progress, you can click the memory alert icon (the icon next to the user icon) to display Xcalar cluster statistics.
Effects of deleting a workbook
Deleting a workbook has the following effects:
- All worksheets in the workbook and all tables in the worksheets are deleted. They are not recoverable after the deletion.
- A dataset created through the workbook might or might not remain depending on whether the dataset is also being used by other workbooks. The dataset is removed only if the workbook being deleted is the only one using the dataset. For more information about dataset deletion, see Understanding dataset deletion.